Fitfully and in bursts of energy and quiet, life has tumbled along here  (even in the absence of pages and pages of blog posts to attest to that truth). So here it is, the Reader’s Digest version of what’s been up (or not, depending on your perspective) this last bit.

Not long after the last of the bacteria evacuated my lungs, but before we went on holiday, school started. And for the first September ever, my two littles went to real, publicly funded school.

grade 1, 2010

The newest members of school are staggered in over the first week, so Simon had to wait until day 2 for his scholastic beginnings. Simon mostly ran away or shoved his hand in the lens as I begged him to  let me memorialize the occasion. I think he called me an ass under his breath.

fuck, i'm not smiling for a picture again, get it right.

After reluctantly leaving Big Sister Kate at the threshold of the Kindergarten classroom for two years, Simon got his chance.

finally, 2010

 

Vehement crowd-haters, it was no accident our holiday and the first week of school coincided. And since waiting for things is hard, especially really, really good things, we decided to wait until the very last minute to tell Kate and Simon about the super-excellent trip we’d been had planned for months. I’ve seen the advertisements, we all have, the ones where parents disclose the impossibly exciting news of a trip to Disney World to eager, wide-eyed children, and how it’s met with shrieks of joy and hysteria from said thankful children, replete “yippees”, “hoorays” and perhaps a tear or two. We couldn’t wait. That was dumb.

Marc was desperate to be the one to let them know the news, but when he told me the details of his unveiling, I was a little skeptical: really important news? Really, your plan to excite a 3 and 6 year old about a super-fun vacation is to have a family meeting about “important news”… But I’ve been wrong before (or so he’s told me), so I took the video and he did the talking.

I will probably go to hell for correcting Marc on his Disney World vs. Disney Land bungle, but it was all going a bit haywire and Simon was crying and Kate was worried about school, and I couldn’t control myself. I’m fine with it.

When the camera was off we took a few moments to explain why Daddy handed them little plastic cards and asked them to get excited, and then spent a few more moments warming them up before turning the camera on again. Take Two:

A forced, insincere improvement perhaps, but an improvement to be sure. Oh well, I’m certain it’s not the last time our children could care less about something we think is fantastic.

Next up, birthdays. A whole whack of them. Mostly I’m just going to talk about mine because, well, I can.

31 candles, count them.

There was dinner, wine, friends and poutine – mostly in that order. This is Jim, he’s very dark because he always wears black, or has a dark aura, or something.

winter jim, 2010

Jim goes with Alison, kind of like peas and carrots but mostly like Cheech and Chong. Alison was there too, somewhere.

Dinners that produce pictures like that often end in trips here:

poutine, 2010

With faces like this:

younger friend, older sister, 2010

That’s my friend Jess on the left and my sister Alicia on the right. It was also Alicia’s birthday, why yes she is older than me. Being so close to Thanksgiving, Jessica thought about streamlining the whole operation with turkey poutine. Genius.

Hallowe’en rolled up next (and after all the mini chocolate bars, I rolled out).

CANDY!

Then the Royal Winter Fair:

during.

 

after.

 That brings us basically up to today, Wednesday. Kate at home for her mental health masquerading as “I have a cough”, and me writing the beginnings of this blog on napkins at a Portuguese bakery because Kate had my phone and I had no knitting.

people actually do this. apparently.

We finished up the afternoon by painting the fairy moulds we made a few weeks ago,

a rare glimpse of the near-extinct crt television, 2010

 and fighting over checkers, which sadly I don’t have a picture of.

That’s about it.

