Hurray, it’s New Year’s Eve!  Blah, blah, blah.   I don’t know, all the hype, all the pressure to entertain again right after Christmas, all the self-deprecating reflection with readily available alcohol – seems like a recipe for disaster if you ask me.  Alas I was not consulted about when to celebrate the birth of the little Baby Jesus (which incidentally is not December 25th, just saying), or the start/end of the year, and since I’m not one for paving my own path by putting up my Christmas tree in July or singing Auld Lang Syne in April, I’m sort of stuck with the dates I’m given. 

Since most of my adult “Eves” have been spent pregnant, chasing a toddler, nursing a newborn, and chasing a toddler and a preschooler, I’m usually crying asleep when the ball finally drops.  This year I plan to be both awake and drunk when the clock chimes 12 times, and we’ve invited over a few friends and their kidlets to join in the fun.  This calls for mucho booze and a one-pot meal (to keep me out of the kitchen and into the sauce).  Our contribution (in addition to our home and my quick wit and charm):

Tomato sauce made from tomatoes I canned this summer, and traditional meatballs from beef procured by my womanizing butcher (his words, not mine) from local (ish) Mennonite farmers.  The baguette I’m going to transform (doesn’t that make it sound like it’s both hard and magical) into garlic bread comes from a Toronto bakery, and the apple pie for dessert was baked in-house at Toronto’s only completely independent grocery store. If you don’t eat-things-with-a-face (thank you Steph for that highly descriptive sound byte), this meal probably makes you want to throw up in your mouth a little bit, but for those omnivores out there – yum.  Oh, and there will be cheese.  Blessed, blessed cheese.

Be safe lovelies, take a cab, stay home, designate someone to watch the fun with a cola (I have a friend, who’s not over 65, who asks for cola instead of coke/pepsi).  Make resolutions that improve your life, not your appearance, and enjoy tonight with good food, good chat, a lot a little vino, and great people.  I can’t think of a better way to start (or finish) anything.

Happy New Year!

